gf-gluten.com aims to try and help people understand what Celiac Disease is, and how to live with it on a day to day basis. Life for most people is very busy and having to add a special diet to the family routine would be something most of us could do without. Hopefully after reading the articles on this site, you will have gained confidence and have a better understanding in knowing how to live with Celiac Disease.
Just because you have celiac disease doesn't mean you have to eat and stay at home for the rest of your life. If you would like to find out more information on a gluten free lifestyle please feel free to browse the various articles I have written. I hope this will help you on your road to understanding and conquering celiac disease.
Easter is a special time for many families to spend time together. Easter was traditionally a Christian festival celebrating the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. The symbol of giving eggs at Easter was a way to celebrate new life. Modern Easter means different things to different people. For some, it is a religious occasion; for others it is a time spent with family and friends exchanging Easter Eggs.
During this custom of exchanging Easter Eggs, it can be easy for a celiac to accidently eat gluten if the ingredients are unknown. So, can someone with celiac disease eat Easter Eggs safely? How can you safely give Easter Eggs to a person with celiac disease?
The good news to both questions is yes. Easter Eggs can be consumed and given but it is important to understand what ingredients are in the chocolate eggs. As a general rule - most plain chocolate Easter Eggs are gluten free but as always the individual ingredients need to be examined. Some chocolate manufacturers like Lindt, add "malt extract" to their products; therefore the products are not gluten free.
Being a celiac, we would love the answer to the above question to be - yes; but sadly this is not the case. Like everything that is taken orally (i.e. digested) by a celiac, we have to make sure that it does not contain any gluten. This includes any medications that are prescribed or bought over the counter.
When a celiac is prescribed a medication, it is wise to mention (remind!!) the GP/doctor that any medication needs to be gluten free. The doctor should then research the ingredients of the drug being prescribed. As a second security measure – prior to the Pharmacist dispensing the medication it is recommended to ask the Pharmacist to confirm that the medication does not contain gluten.
Slendier Noodles and Pasta.
Are you trying to cut back on your carbohydrates to lose weight? Well maybe this product is just the answer!! Noodle Style made from Konjac vegetable by Slendier.
This product is very similar to rice noodles without the carbohydrates. Boasting only 8 calories per 100 grams. It is a tasty gluten free treat to aadd to soups or stir-frys without adding extra calories.
Slendier Noodles are made from a vegetable called Konjac (pronounced con-jack). Konjac is a
dietary staple in many Asian countries. It is commonly referred to as “devils tongue” due to its unusual appearance. This product is often used to assist with weight loss.
Konjac is extremely low in calories, high in fibre and low in fat so it is ideal for people trying to lose weight. This product is suitable for coeliacs and vegans. Slendier have other products in their range such as rice style, spaghetti, angel hair, fettuccine and lasagne sheets. Imagine all the recipes you can make!!
Hopefully by now you are on your way to discovering lots of different types of food that can be eaten on a gluten free diet. For example you can eat fresh vegetables, dairy and meats and lots of other products that are marked gluten free.
So lets take a look at some other products where your first reaction might be, YES that is safe to eat or NO that is not safe.
Wine, cider, spirits – Yes, you can drink malt scotch whisky.
Foods that are safe