Play Dough

If you have a child that is a celiac, you not only have to worry about what foods they eat, but also need to be aware of the toys that they play with.

An example: Play-Doh is a modeling compound used by children for craft and art projects at home, in child care centres and in schools.. It is made up of flour, water, salt, boric acid, and silicone. It states on the container that it contains wheat.

You might think that this is harmless but if the child happens to eat any of the Play-Doh then this will affect a celiac child in the same way as if eating food that contained wheat.

Some companies that do make gluten free play dough are Aroma Dough and Colorations. Colorations is sold by Discount School Supply.

 

 

There are other brands of play dough on the market that do not state the ingredients on the label. It should not be assumed these are wheat free as the manufacturer has no requirement to declare any ingredients. It would be wise to call the company directly and check what ingredients are used in the product prior to purchasing.

A good recipe that you can make at home for play dough (that does not contain any gluten) is as follows:

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup of rice flour
  • ½ cup of 100% corn flour (starch)
  • ½ cup of salt
  • 2 teaspoons of cream of tarter
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 teaspoon of cooking oil 
  • Food coloring, if desired

Preparation Time – 5 minutes Cook time – 3 minutes

 Preparation:

  • Mix ingredients all together into a bowl.
  • Cook and stir on low heat for 3 minutes or until mixture forms into a ball.
  • Allow to cool completely before storing in a plastic container or a re-sealable plastic bag.