Can alcohol be consumed if you are a Celiac

 


There are many people who believe that being a celiac means not being able to drink alcohol,  as most alcohols
are made from malt barley and/or other cereals that contain gluten. 

The good news is that this is NOT the case. 

With the exception of beer and larger, all spirits, liquers, brandy, port, still and sparkling wines (red and white) are gluten free and can be safely consumed on a gluten free diet.

 


 

Some articles that have been written suggest only drinking alcohol that has been originated from a gluten free grain or source i.e. rice, sugar cane or fruit.   Many celiacs play it safe by choosing to do this, but it is NOT necessary once you understand the distillation process.

The rule to remember is, due to these products being so highly processed, there is no detectable gluten in the finished product, even if the alcohol is derived from a grain that contains gluten i.e. wheat or barley.  

Clear distilled liquids like white vinegar, ethyl alcohol and spirits are also regarded as gluten free.

To further clarify this matter, this response was received from Chivas Regal Company in Scotland in regard to drinking malt whisky.   This is an extract from the Scotch Whisky Association, and quote:

Scotch Whisky and Celiac disease
Since malted barley and other cereals are used to make Scotch Whisky, it is not surprising those who suffer from Celiac disease query whether whisky can be safely included in a gluten-free diet.   Proteins (including gluten), however, do not carry over to the distillation process and are not present in the final product.   Scotch can therefore be safely consumed as part of a gluten free diet.


We can all now breath a sigh of relief to know we can safely enjoy the "top shelf" spirits. For more information on this topic go to: Reading and Understanding Food labels