Beer

For people that suffer from celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis they cannot consume beer that has been traditionally brewed using malted barley, hops and wheat.  This is due to the gluten not being totally destroyed during the brewing process.  This can be very frustrating for adults that are diagnosed later in life and have developed a taste for beer.

A lot of research has been achieved in the art of making a gluten free beer that tastes and smells like regular beer.   This has now certainly been achieved by many breweries world wide.   These beers are usually made using sorghum.  



This method has been used for thousands of years in Africa.Other grains like rice, buckwheat, millet are also used.  Beers made from different grains may have a different flavour but the end result is an enjoyable beer flavour. 

Here are a few examples of different beers:

Sapporo - Japanese beer made from rice.

Green's Brewery - Britain uses a mix of sorghum, buckwheat, millet and brown rice

O'Briens Brewery - Australia uses a mix of sorghum, millet and rice

Low Gluten Beers

Low gluten beers should NOT be consumed on a gluten free diet.   The product simply has a reduced gluten level but it still contains gluten.   It would be equivalent to eating low gluten food.   It must be remembered the gluten is not totally destroyed during the brewing process of the grains.

There are many gluten free beers now on the market worldwide.   Get adventurous and try the different beers to find the one you enjoy.Here are just a few that are currently available, world wide:

USA – Shakparo, Mbege, New Grist, Ramapo Valley brewery - Honey beer (Kosher certified), Redbridge

UK – Bards (formerly known as Dragon's Gold) which is also suitable for a vegetarian or vegan diet

Australia – O'Briens Pale Ale or Lager, Billabong Brewing Blonde Beer, Schnitzer Brau,  Silly Yaks 

For further information follow the links to Can I still drink alcohol,  Spirits and Liquers and Wine